Some people think high-end technology can prevent and cut down the rate of committing crime. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that technological advances have made our lives easier and comfortable. Some individuals believe that the use of state-of-art technology can help in alleviating and checking crime rates. I agree with the statement and will discuss about it in the essay. One of the hi-tech approach is the installation of CCTV cameras. The reason is that recorded CCTV footages help in the identification of the culprits, and monitor all the activities of that place which might deter criminals to plan something fishy. To illustrate, a study conducted by Cambridge University showed a 16% reduction in thefts after installing CCTV cameras at the Car Parks. Besides CCTVs, burglar alarms have played a crucial role in preventing thefts at houses as the sounds of these alarms alert the owners in case of any mis-happenings. Therefore, we can say that these gadgets could help police in tracing lawbreakers and deterring felonies. Another hi-end invention is web-based applications developed for security purposes such as location tracking apps. These can be easily installed in mobile phones and used for ensuring the safety of closed ones. For example, Eyewatch SOS is a mobile android application, specially designed for women's safety. It allows the user to trigger instant emergency alerts to the trusted contacts along with location, visuals, and other critical details of the situation. As the crime against women has been increasing day by day; thus, these software programs have proven to be useful in stopping the offences against women. In conclusion, although hi a lofty level or position or degree high -end tech gadgets and software programs can mitigate criminality up to a great extent, law and order should be strict enough so that offenders would be afraid to commit the crimes.