Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

There is no doubt that nowadays t air pollution is one of the major problems that human beings need to face in the modern day. Pollution could have dire consequences on physical health. In fact, it is a serious concern worldwide. Although many experts say that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve this problem, I think that it has more disadvantages and that better solutions could be found. First of all, raising the price of petrol would force that people go to work by car and consequently more money would be spent. Clearly, this could deter people from using private vehicles. My previous employer, for instance, works 50kms away from home and there is no public transport he could take. In addition, this increasing of fees would enrich those who are already rich such as oil tankers. Undoubtedly, we are facing a troublesome issue that we need to deal with. Most expert says that one measure that should be taken is to enhance services. Let’s consider Naples, which doesn’t have an efficient means of communication. Consequently, many people are forced to buy a car because it’s simply unreliable. Furthermore, what governments could do is raise awareness that walking is a good activity for health and build cycle paths to encourage people not to use private vehicles. In addition, it would be a good idea to promote companies that produce electrical machines, taxing them less or giving benefits to those who buy them. As far as I’m concerned, raising the fee of petrol would not be the best alternative to contrast air pollution. I believe that our government should take steps forward to buy the electrical machine or and definitely improve public transport.