Many people use social media on regular basis in order to keep in touch with the news and with other people. Do you think that the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In contemporary society, social media has consistently been a topic of interest among the masses. The statement that many individuals prefer to choose social media as a tool to communicate with others and read the newest released news presents a viewpoint that is both thought-provoking and debatable. Despite recognizing the merits and drawbacks behind this viewpoint, I am inclined to believe it has more disadvantages, as I believe social media leads to serious mental health trouble and increases misleading information in society. It is clear that social media, such as Instagram and Youtube, are platforms with a 24/7, non-stop cycle of news reports and numerous fack and true information just continuously appears on one's pages. The algorithm behind social media makes people hard to identify which information could be trusted. Furthermore, the news on social media sometimes is full of prejudices and negative emotions, if individuals are not clever enough, it is easy to be misled. It is therefore reasonable that if a person uses social media as the only resource to obtain knowledge is dangerous. Moreover, the aforementioned perspective does not emphasise the main problems which stem from social media - depression, lack of essential interpersonal communication skills and body shame. Those problems are not only struggling teenagers but also adults. For example, the texting culture makes people capable of writing reasonable sentences on the internet but afraid of talking in front of others. I believe this is the crucial reason why so many people suffer from the loneliness epidemic. Such instances support my viewpoint and suggest that addiction to social media leads to mental health and social problems. In conclusion, given the consideration that social media causes numerous mental issues, lets people leak communication skills, and continuously spreads pessimistic information, my allegiance that using social media as the basic platform to read the latest news and text with others has more drawbacks is steadfastly consolidated and controvertibly firm.