People today are more concerned with owning material possessions than with developing friendships and family relationships. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

It is commonly said that nowadays the intimacy and closeness in friendship is mostly overshadowed by financial matters. We can see a higher rate of marriage failures due to monetary arguments and disagreements and friendships falling apart regarding this thing. I assume to judge the current situation and the reasons lead to this new approach require paying attention to the differences of modern lifestyle. The everyday life expenses increment is one of the reasons why in this day and age every individual has more financial concerns no element which they belong to social class. The unavoidable worries about economic stability and welfare have an immense effect on our everyday relationships with our family members, colleagues, and friends. In my point of view, although these concerns are not a new element, in the recent decade, they became a major consideration due to wars and instability we see even in developed countries. Consumerism is another new concept which you can’t stay away from nowadays. Advertisements targeting our ego and subconscious leave us no choice other than spending our money on the products we do not even use. Accepting more debts, going through hard work situations and emerging to make money for unreeling needs that mass media defining for us is a major reason why money became more of a concern for us than before and we can’t say that these general capitalist policies do not have any effect on the way we deal with people we are connected with. To sum up, I reckon that gaining a materialistic point of view by modern societies is a thing of unstable political and financial situation over the world and also the unconscious pressure that manufacturers and owners of the capitalist system put on us. To bring back emotional bonds and the old humanistic approach to relationships again requires a great effort from governments.