More and more prisons are being built to house the world's criminals, many people believe long-term imprisonment is the answer to solving the crime problem. However, others feel that psychological assistance is what is required. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A large number of jails are being constructed in order to accommodate the offenders as it is often believed by a majority of public that long-term detention can prove to be a solution to the surmounting issue of the case. Whilst, others recommend that rehabilitation for the criminals should be provided. I staunchly believe that the authorities should take many factors into consideration while deciding a punishment or scaffolding for the prisoners. To commence with, certainly, the major argument in favour of incarceration is rooted in the fact that, the isolation of the delinquent, would vouchsafe the security and safety of the society. Besides this, such an approach can prove to be an overwhelmingly effective tool to reduce lawlessness as it would stimulate the lawbreakers to realise their offence and learn a lesson of civility. Therefore, confinement could be an incontrovertible solution to combat the issue of violation. On the contrary, others might argue that cognitive training and assistance could help the sufferers to be more productive. This could be owing to the fact that many of the crimes are committed in unfavourable circumstances or due to mental instability. Hence, providing psychological assistance could be a rational approach. Having discussed the above, it can be observed that irrefutably, imprisonment plays an indispensable part in shaping the behaviour of the prisoners and protecting the community. Nevertheless, counselling should be the part of behavioural treatment, whereby the positive reinforcement could be taken as an irrevocable solution to curb the surging problem of misdemeanour. So, I believe that detention should be accompanied by psychological assistance.