Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that criminals should always subject to fixed punishment for certain crimes, while there are others who think that the hidden stories behind the unpleasant acts of the accused people should be taken into consideration before inflicting suffering. On the one hand, giving a fixed torture would definitely make court proceedings a lot quicker. This is explained by the fact that the judges would not need to analyse the case and decide a specific type of retribution as it would have been already decided for them. Moreover, if felons know that there is severe and harsh discipline, even for small crimes, they are hindered and they would not attempt to commit any illegal act. Therefore, the crime rates would decrease significantly and thus a better society will be built. For instance, in Iran, the sanction of stealing is cutting the robber’s hand off no matter what had been stolen. On the other hand, it would make more sense if the judges decide a crime, according to the situation and the motive of it because it would ensure that the convict is given a fair trial and the right trial will be handed down to him. The majority of the incarcerated people had faced a problem in their life, such as childhood trauma, poverty, victimisation or mental illness. For instance, a mentally ill person who commits a murder would be judged accordingly, instead of being counted like any other lawbreaker. This would make the criminal justice system fair and balanced. All in all, I personally think that each crime should be assessed specifically as this is becoming a very convoluted and disconcerting problem nowadays. Living in a safe environment is not outside the realm of possibility. Actions need to be done.