Do the benefits of tourism outweigh the drawbacks?

Touristry is incontestably one of most profitable industries, churning out a massive revenue to the global economies. Despite being cost-effective, many fierce debates have been opened to discuss its deplorable effects on people’s lives as well as the surrounding environment. Although I partly concur with the tourist industry being lucrative business, it does wreak havoc on regional traditions and the ecosystem. On the one hand, the fact that touristry being economically advantageous is explicable. To begin with, it serves as a major income to the government. Through attractive sites and wondrous souvenirs, travel agents and appealing services can receive money from tourists as they travel to the host country in flocks, thus boosting the economy here. Therefore, it is no overstatement to say that countries that draw mainly tourists’ attention, such as France and the USA have higher living standards. Additionally, tourism offers potential economic opportunities by advertising a country’s culture image worldwide, cuisine in particular. Psychologically speaking, when a tourist relish a local Specialty such as coconut candy, they are predisposed towards whetting others’ appetite, creating a desire for them to enjoy as well. Hence, traders can deploy this craving for exporting tasty products. Last but not least, with the increasing tempo of satisfying customers’ needs, human resources play an integral part in touristry. In other words, thanks to this non-smoking industry, a large number of jobs are provided to everyone which can in turn support them with a sustainable income. Consequently, the unemployment rate would drop significantly. On the other hand, it would be unreasonable to disregard the horrendous corollaries that tourism entails. To commence with, there have been many cases in which tourists have insolent behaviour towards the attractions such as writing on the walls or destroying precious artefacts. What is more, some extreme parties exploit tourism as a means of terrorizing people’s lives. The quintessence of this is the bombing in Giza, Cairo, which struck a tourist bus, taking the lives of three innocent Vietnamese tourists and Egyptian tour guide in December, 2018. These shocking events, let alone heartless, are ruining heavily a country’s image. Besides that, environmental issues are also caused by tourism. There exists the omnipresence of insurmountable of trash, deafening crowds, contaminated air at one’s attraction which all are the harmful effects of too many tourists. All things considered, I am inclined to believe the tourism has the vantage in terms of the economy. However, it still has some dark sides brought into peoples’ lives. The government should implement suitable measures to ameliorate the situations to encourage the prosperity of this industry.