The recent back-and-forth debate and policy reversal over the use of face masks to prevent the spread of Covid-19. What is your opinion? are you for or against wearing face mask? Why?

The COVID-19 virus has become alarmingly dangerous in today's world, with millions of people infected and heaps of deaths have been confirmed. Due to the recent circumstance, it is advised that we should wear face masks in order to avoid the proportion of causing the disease, but are the face masks really work or is it just an inappropriate kind of advertisement? First identified in Wuhan, China, the virus then spread exceedingly globally, leads to hundreds of confirmed cases on a daily basis. The virus is known for attacking its victim's lungs, results in symptoms include fever, cough, fatigue, and shortness of breath. The aforementioned symptoms have made the disease spread uncontainably until WHO declared it as a worldwide pandemic. Since the virus is often caused by close contacts and via small droplets produced by coughing, sneezing, or talking, it seems rational that a few countries decided to take face masks seriously. However, from scientific viewpoints, face masks are not only causing pollution, but also not helpful during the pandemic. According to doctor Fauci, face masks can only be effective for around 10 to 15 minutes due to the dampness from our respiration. Once the masks are damped, the masks become completely useless as its protecting function has declined. Moreover, after the pandemic, piles of after-used face masks would be impossible to deal with. In fact, the world has not finished with the face masks from the year 2002, when SARS was around. Masks have a negative influence on the environment, their chemical ingredients can not disintegrate, which results in soil and water pollution as the contamination is being dumped into the oceans. Additionally, thousands of marine creatures suffer from being tightened daily with the masks around their bodies. The world is in danger, and it is our responsibility to help it, starting with small actions. With the rapid growth of the pandemic, there are other measures we can take to avoid getting the disease includes frequent hand washing, maintaining a physical distance from others (especially from those with symptoms), covering coughs and sneezes with a tissue or inner elbow, and keeping unwashed hands away from the face. The use of masks is recommended for only those who suspect they have the virus and their caregivers. To recapitulate, wearing face masks publicly for a long time is inadvisable during the current pandemic.