News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported?

There is no good or bad news, there is just news to notify viewers around the world what is happening with in depth analysis. Some people believe that publishing bad news has become the new trend and others argue that it depends on the individual’s perspective. In my view, I feel that good news should be delivered to spread awareness. Firstly, there are many factors involved in deciding to broadcast and the most preponderant is its content and reason; however, prioritising the articles natural catastrophes like a viral outbreak needs immediate awareness and they stand tall in spreading. For example, the latest pandemic outbreak is Covid-19 is hitting the headlines ever since it started to spread its influence across globe. Needless to say, social security and educational bulletins will catch the editor’s eye to air related information. Secondly, another pivotal aspect is that commercial content also plays a key role. In addition, newspapers not only inform people about what’s happening, but also advertise, market products from big companies for profits. For instance, market experts report that based on the ratings and popularity news agents tend to associate in marketing latest goods. Hence, financial revenue also plays a significant role to make the media alive. In conclusion, we can clearly understand that information can be spread in a positive or negative manner, both financial and social awareness are the two main factors to hit the front page of the news headings. Finally, the role of news editors is too dire to ignore.