Nowadays, older people who need employment must compete with younger people. What problems does this cause, and what are the solutions?

Since the beginning of the 21st century, there is a competition between old and young people for employment. This essay intends to analyse the problems this causes along with possible solutions to mitigate them. To commence with the issue of this trend, one significant problem arising from the competition between both generations is job discrimination in the job market. To explain it more, sometimes companies give preference to older ones, because of their experience which leads to fewer job options for youth, even if they have better technical and modern skills. Ultimately, it creates stress among young generations. For example, a survey conducted by the Central Bureau Investigation (CBI) in 2019 revealed that 40% of suitable young workers find difficulty in finding their dream job, because some senior people also apply for the same career and even they get that without having another skill that young job seeker has. To mitigate this, companies should make some clear and suitable instructions for the requirement of the jobs which should cover all the skills required besides just experience, so the most suitable person will be selected. Furthermore, another problem caused by such a trend is ineffective production. In other words, it is noted the elderly individuals have less work stamina as compared to youth. Their physical health makes them unsuitable for working long hours which means that they need more breaks while working. This thing is surely not in the favour of organisation growth. To mitigate this, either companies should hire elder people to such positions where they can work without stressing their health or they should give priority to those people who qualify for this hurdle whether they are young or old. In conclusion, the competition among the different generations of workers has severe consequences, such as an unfair job market and less productivity of older individuals. Nevertheless, these can be solved if companies give fair opportunities to both without considering their ages.