Nowadays technology is increasingly being used to monitor what people are saying and doing (for example, through cell phone tracking and security cameras). In many cases, the people being monitored are unaware that this is happening. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In today's world, with the technological progress it is possible to conduct public surveillance sometimes even without people’s knowledge. It is definitely true that not all the effects of this innovation have been positive, although there are certainly some advantages. This essay discusses the merits and drawbacks of this development. There are several reasons why the control of people should be banned. The main reason is that a person’s personal data can be stolen through various virus programmes that get into computers and mobile phones. For example, they can be used for commercial or political purposes by various corporations and governments. Additionally, there are many countries in which democracy is established, but there is communities tracking, which is contrary to the personal rights and freedoms and leads to people being unable to express their opinions. In spite of these negative effects, however, this development has brought important benefits as well. To begin with, the key objective of monitoring devices is to deter criminals, especially in areas where there is a high crime rate. For example, petty criminals such as shoplifters and pickpockets usually operate in crowded places and the presence of cameras can discourage them from theft and committing crime. Moreover, video recordings can be used as powerful evidence to convict offenders who break the law. As a result, such technologies can provide valuable support to the law in order to build a better society with a low violation rate. To sum up, while there are some obvious drawbacks to monitor people, strong public surveillance helps reduce crime in a society and make it peaceful. Therefore, I tend to believe that people tracking has brought us many more benefits than disadvantages.