Write about the following topic. Traditions are about the past and innovation is about the future, and it has been argued that we need to let go of traditions for the sake of progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this? What role should traditions have in our lives? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

With the speed of the developed world, some people think that we should get rid of traditions for future development. From my perspective, I do not completely agree with this statement, I think we just need to let of some things that are not useful due to traditions still and forever having an important role in our life such as the significance of culture in each nation. In this essay, I will discuss it clearly and give my own knowledge. To begin with, there is one main reason that we should conserve our traditions. The first and foremost is the value of culture, which is nowadays gradually faded away. As a fact, traditions, and cultures are always two things to indicate our value in each person in a country, which are passed from former generations to future ones like the loyalty to country, freedom, language, and memories of the heroes who contributed to build up our country in the past. As a result, if we lose our own traditional traits like these, then anytime in the future, we will be absorbed by others, which may be not suitable for us, for example, in the Vietnam War, we were under the loss of freedom for over 1000 years by the northern empires, but with the strength of cultural and traditional traits, our people did not give up, still standing up to get back our libration. So, it is unbelievable that we are willing to give up all the beautiful traditional traits that we have inherited from former generations. However, there are still some traditions that may be not appropriate for the present such as the discrimination for women in the old society where women were not allowed to go to study or have a high position in government, and in the past, only boys were loved more than girls for some unfair reasons. As a consequence, these bad traditions will have bad effects if they are continued as they will lead to the unbalance of proportion between men and women, or the not perfect contribution to the development of society. Hence, those traits need to be eliminated from the future. In conclusion, there are many significant characteristics in our traditions and cultures that we need to preserve for the sustainability of our country. But those bad traits such as discrimination for women should be erased from our society.