Supermarkets should only sell food produced from within their own country rather than imports from overseas. What are your opinions on this?

Nowadays, we find all sorts of products in supermarkets. Some of them are locally produced and some of them are imported from abroad. These products include dairies, vegetables, fruits, canned food and cleansers etc. In this essay, I will explain why supermarkets should focus more on selling resident goods rather than foreign goods. Selling local products in supermarkets has many benefits for the country’s economy. First, it will encourage business people to invest more in establishing factories, it will lead to creating more jobs, which also will lead to boost individual’s financial condition. Besides the reduction of unemployment numbers, selling local products could enhance the country’s economy by increasing the number of exported products to other countries, and reducing the number of imported items from outside. Furthermore, selling goods produced inside the country will help to lower the prices for the customers, especially essential items that customers use in daily bases. In addition to this, local production will help society to reserve their traditional dishes rather than replace them with foreign food. The last point is that selling local vegetables and fruits in supermarkets will support resident farms and encourage them to expand and develop their farms. Despite all these advantages, we cannot ignore that there are many customers who like to try products from different countries, and they are willing to pay a higher price to purchase them. Therefore, we need to balance individuals’ need and society’s benefits. In conclusion, I believe that there are numerous advantages to increasing local food production within our Country.