Car ownership has increased so rapidly over the past thirty years that many cities in the world are now 'one big traffic jam'. How true do you think this statement is? What measures can governments take to discourage people from using their cars?

In the modern world, it is argued by some authorities and politicians that using of the car has been increasing dramatically for thirty years and it causes a traffic problem in most of the big cities. I strongly believe this statement and this essay will examine the proofs of and how to tackle this issue. First of all, the population around the world has increased rapidly in the last century, especially after the second world war. However, a huge amount of people has emigrated from rural areas to big cities and it causes overpopulation. Due to lack of infrastructure system, individuals have preferred to have a private car. The number of motor ownership has increased by 300% in the last decade as per the World Bank. For instance, before and after working hours it would be impossible to use a public transportation system since people have to wait around one hour to get into a bus or subway. That is the reason why citizens tend to have an auto even if they are aware of the traffic jam around the city. So, governments have to ask a question themselves that even if many metropolitan cities have a public transportation system, why individuals prefer to use the automobile? When we look at the answer, I believe that governments should take some restriction to prevent an increasing number of car ownership. Firstly, there should be another city tax, which ensures if a car enters the central zone, the owner has to pay a fee. For instance, especially at the time before and after working hours which are likely 8-9 am and 6-7 pm, the fees of bridges, roads, or parking areas have to be increased by governments or municipalities. Moreover, the authorities have to increase the ratio of the investment of the infrastructure projects and guarantee that public transportation is cheaper, faster and most importantly more quality. For instance, if a person could be able to reach its office by subway, there would no need his car. In conclusion, in the light of the information given above, even if there are some proven causes of the people to use their car, it should not be forgotten that if governments raise the quality of public transportation system and set some penalties, citizens would benefit those systems.