All over the world, the number of overweight people is growing. What do you feel are the main causes of this? What are the effects?

Global obesity rates have been swelling for several decades. This is a trend that continues to have devastating effects on populations everywhere. Although often debated, I feel the food a person eats and the lifestyle they live are the base precursors to this problem. In this essay, a look at these causes and their effects will be made. Firstly, diet and lifestyle are the two most major catalysts of obesity. This is clearly evidenced by countries experiencing rapid economic change. For example, in China, growing affluence has led people to consume more fast food and live more sedentary lifestyles. This trend moves in tandem with a steady growth in the number of overweight people. Thus, as this makes clear, changing dietary practices and levels of activity are at the root of weight problems. The major effects of this trend are entirely negative. As seen in the United States, growing obesity rates lead to growing rates of life-threatening health problems, such as diabetes, heart disease and high blood pressure. For example, Americans under 30 years of age are expected to have shorter lifespans than their parents, a biological phenomenon never experienced before in America. Thus, it is clear that these effects need to be countered to enhance the quality of life for future generations. Following this look at the causes and effects of obesity, I feel that education is the single most important address to this problem. Thus, to change this disturbing global trend, I hope schools everywhere encourage healthy eating habits in children to help establish better health for the generation to come.