News editors decide what to broadcast on television and what to print in newspapers. What factors do you think influence these decisions? Do we become used to bad news? Would it be better if more good news was reported? Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and relevant evidence.

Nowadays, the majority of mass communication influences all generations of people, especially news that is in negative view. I strongly believe that there are various factors impact on their decision to decide which news should be broadcasted. In addition, positive news should be supported which I will explain in this essay. To begin with determinants, there are two main possible factors influence editors to choose a broadcast content. The first one is rating. They usually collect the data by evaluate which news is watched or read by the large number of people. Consequently, they choose to publish the topic that people are interested. Another factor is sponsored. They need money to propel their business, thereby some content may be reported to promote their sponsors. Regarding the news, there are some studies showing that people accustomed to bad news and they tend to watch it more than good news. The probable cause is unpleasant news often demonstrates the pictures or clips which is exciting and feel like you are watching movies. For example, the criminal news and terrorism. On the other hand, good news seems to be boring. However, it is necessary to encourage mass communication to influence people with pleasant content because it loads of benefits for every generation, such as good news of education, award nomination, health care and so on. In conclusion, the two main factors which are program rating and sponsors affect the decision of the editors. A large number of people get used to bad news thus, editors should consider of the report and support more good news for merits to social.