Some people think that it is a good idea to give children a small amount of money each week to spend on what they would like.Other people think this is wrong and that it is a waste of money.Discuss both views and give your opinion

Nowadays, it has become a trend among modern parents to give some amount of cash, which is commonly known as "pocket money ". As many people believe that it has a positive impact in the development of the child, it could impact negatively too. However, I personally agree that it has many advantages in raising a smart kid and this essay will explain in detail. Firstly, there are a number of benefits that a child would receive by giving some money each week to spend or do anything they wish. For example, most of the parents give some amount of cash as a reward or a motivation when they some good behaviours in their child. Furthermore, some parents allocate a weekly target to encourage good behaviours or manners and promise a small cash prize. This would help the child to gain the habit of saving money and cash management etiquettes. As a result, the children will understand the importance of the value of money and how effectively, they should it to purchase something that they desire. However, the parents should educate their children and provide knowledge on what items they should be purchased or the proper ways of spending their collections. On the other side of the spectrum of giving money could be negatively impacting the children too. This happens when the parents do not take time to monitor how their children spend the cash collected. To illustrate, some working parents give money to their children to purchase what the child want as they do not have time, which could adversely impact the child to purchase things which are not appropriate for his age or health. A recent study shows, most of the young adults who are addicted to smoking are of working parents who give excess money to spend. In my opinion, I believe that a parent should give a considerable amount of money as a good behavioural practice and monitor how the child is using the money. This could teach them to be responsible and being accountable from a very young age. To conclude, providing some amount of cash has both pros and cons. It could be a good practice to teach cash management, ethics and promote good behaviours while if not properly guided it could be misguided too. Hence, the parents should take extra care when giving such cash rewards as it has many important learnings to life.