Most people believe that social networking sites (such as Facebook) have had a huge negative impact on both individuals and society. To what extent do you ageee?

Nowadays, social networking sites have grown tremendously and has a determined value in our lives. Social applications like Facebook and Instagram have captured millions of users in a just few years. Therefore, it is important to know whether it is a negative impact or not in our community. I believe, that social media have brought several benefits in our life as well as disadvantages. First of all, social networking sites give individuals the chance to stay connected whenever they are. The last years, many students take the decision to study abroad and they can make free video callings with their beloved people no matter the distance. Moreover, individuals who run a business, social apps may be beneficial. They can advertise their business entirely for free. For example, my best friend John, opened recently a Chinese restaurant and he advertised his business to the community by using Facebook and now he earns great profits. On the other hand, these applications can influence individuals negatively. Many people and especially the young generation are becoming addicted by the use of social media. They tend to cut off from the society and they waste their free time that could have been utilized by more productive tasks and activities. This is a clear disadvantage. Furthermore, cyberbullying is another negative part of our topic. Since anyone can create a fake account more and more teenagers are becoming victims of violence. For instance, in my country a mass of people has been accused of violence through the social apps. This is a key issue that is required to be under consideration. In conclusion, it is clear event that social networking sites may be beneficial, but at the same time individuals can be affected very negatively. With proper education and by promoting awareness, I believe the disadvantages can be reduced significantly.