Universities should accept equal numbers of male and female students in every subject. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that universities should offer equal opportunities for accepting both male and female students in every education subject. However, I do not agree with the equality in student admission. This essay will discuss reasons to support my opinion. On the one hand, gender should be irrelevant in education. Men and women should have access to the same educational opportunities. It is wrong to discriminate against students because of their gender. It can help to ensure balanced admissions especially in some subject fields. For instance, the enrollment of female engineering students increased by 23 per cent at Tsinghua University which implemented this policy. On the other hand, it is the reality that not everyone is equally interested in every subject. That's to say, many courses are more popular with one gender than the other. For example, nursing and kindergarten courses are usually selected by women students. Regarding to last results of academic years, few man students wanted to choose these majors. That's why these courses are fulfilled by girls. From my point of view, female students are the best candidates for this qualification. For equality in numbers it is not true to reduce their admission plan. Forcing equal members may reduce quality if students are admitted based on gender, not merit. In conclusion, I consider that although gender balance is a good deal, forcing equal numbers in every subject is not practical. Universities should support a balanced approach, and encourage all genders to apply freely, additionally, admissions should remain merit-based.