Some universities now offer their courses on the Internet so that people can study online. Is this a positive or negative development?

The debate weather it is a positive development that many universities are now providing online courses as opposed to, in-class delivery has become a matter of discussion among many. Personally, I believe that this is a positive development. In this essay, I shall provide arguments and examples to support this view. To begin with, one of the main reasons why online courses are beneficial is due to their flexibility and ease of learning. For example, students can rewind, watch and pause lectures that are available online, which makes it much easier to learn from. In addition, those students who could not leave their house due to medical reasons, can also be greatly benefited from the online courses. Furthermore, various studies have shown that online courses are more efficient in teaching new concepts when compared to in-class courses, owning to their previously mentioned flexibility. Moreover, another major advantage of online courses is the lower cost of education. For example, universities could save large sum of money in the form of electricity cost and building smaller infrastructure by incorporating online courses. Due to this, today online courses cost much less compared to traditional in-class courses, are a popular choice among students. Lastly, universities and colleges often struggle to find qualified professors for each and every course that is being offered by them. This limits the number of courses available to students. However, as online courses do not require lectures in order to teach students, they can be easily managed by a single professor. Thus, allowing universities to offer a large variety of courses to students. In conclusion, from the given arguments and examples I firmly believe that there are numerous advantages of courses being available on the internet. In the future, we could expect to see even more efficient and advanced technology being used in such online courses.