People in cities often do not interact with their neighbors and this is harming communities. What are the possible causes and solutions?

Lack of effective communication with next door among urban citizens is considered as a concerning issue and a threat for local communities. A series of indirect causes of this, seem to be the modern lifestyle along with the growing use of technology. To overcome the problem the governments and urban designers could provide practical solutions. Modern lifestyle undoubtedly plays an important role in the declining tendency towards interaction with neighbours. Never can it be denied that modern humankinds have become more overwhelmed with everyday life than earlier generations. As a consequence, they have less time to allocate to social gatherings. Unavoidably, they would have no choice but to restrict their circle of friends in order to interact with a selectively chosen group. Another underlying factor which gives rise to this trend is the emergence of technology. No longer do people put a high value on the face-to-face interaction with neighbours, thanks to the internet and state-of-the-art gadgets. Indeed, such facilities have obviated the needs for communication with those living physically close. Instead, the majority is inclined to stay in touch with their relatives regardless of their location. Hence, individuals prefer to spend their time with their beloved ones rather than the urban population how live in the vicinity, with just a click of a button. In order to determine how to remedy this situation, the governments need to take action. Having in mind their power to control the mass media, they can employ it to educate the public about the importance of social relationship with neighbours. Producing related content, like banners and video clips, for promoting the role of local, would be a fruitful action as people would be encouraged to form close-knit communities. Furthermore, urban designers could come up with effective solutions and assist the governors in this regard. They can suggest innovative designs for improving urban infrastructures, like to contrive special areas for friendly meetings in short distances. Having such places in all districts of a city provides cosy corners for social gatherings among local residents. This could be beneficial and lead to a more cohesive local neighbourhood. To recapitulate, the modernization and using the technology for communicating have caused a serious concern about interaction with neighbours in urban societies. In order to resolve the problem the governments should take necessary actions and use the mass media. Additionally, urban designers could put forward some ideas to architecturally renovate the urban to pave the way for expanding interactions in localities.