some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. why is this the case? do you think this is a positve or a negative development?

There is no denying the fact that using smartphones is a crucial way to communicate with other people. While there is a commonly held belief that more and more children spend most of their time on smartphones. This essay will discuss why this is happening and provide a clear view whether this behaviour is a positive or a negative development. To begin with, there are many reasons why children spend almost most of their time on their phones. One of the main reasons is that many members of society who are under eighteen years old want to use social media. In other words, using social media platforms, such as Snapchat and Instagram, would allow easy communication with their friends. In addition, a huge number of children play video games through the use of smartphones. For example, recent studies have shown that a large percentage of teenagers spend a substantial amount of time playing video games, such as Call of Duty and PUBG. In terms of the negative outcomes which are greater than the positives, children's communication skills in the real world are decreasing over time. It is also possible to say that when a young individual communicates frequently in the virtual world rather than face-to-face, his skills, like talking to his parents, will decrease over time. Moreover, identity theft is one of the common ways to steal things on the internet. For instance, some countries like Australia have been setting restrictions on using smartphones, especially for people under 18 years old, which is to prevent identity theft. In conclusion, there are many reasons why children should not be allowed to use phones, which contribute to a substantial decrease in their mental well-being.