Advertising has become an unavoidable part of everyone’s lives. Some people say that advertising is a positive part of our lives while other say it is a negative one. Discuss both views and include your own opinion.

Advertising is one of the most important steps taken by businesses around the world to share and present their products or services and has become an unavoidable part of everyone’s life. It generates millions of dollars daily to our economy and brings joy to many although some people find advertising causing a negative impact on humankind. In this essay I will examine both of these views and will share my thoughts on why I believe that advertising lands more benefits into our livelihoods. To start off, without advertising, people, including myself, simply would not know what is out there and what new upgraded and modernised products have just been released. Advertising provides us with options to choose from which I believe one can a rare argue with. Moreover, not only it makes businesses more competitive with each other, but also help the economy to grow. For instance, recent research suggests that countries spending more on advertising has a better chance of increasing their GDP. As a result, advertising brings positive impacts on both sides, the society itself and the government. However, some people claim that advertising cause unnecessary shopping and ads often lie. They base their thoughts on the fact that it is hard to remain vigilant when people, especially older ones, are being brainwashed on buying a particular product and trusting every advertisement whilst not doing a proper research. Consequently, individuals end up hoarding items to fulfil their needs just to buy and become dependable on it. No wonder we have a new word in our dictionary - Shopaholic. To conclude, while I understand that we must carefully consider before buying products we see advertised, there are remarkable benefits of advertising, few of them being given opportunities to choose and compare, but also helping our economy to grow.