Online shopping is increasing dramatically. How could this trend affect our environment and the kinds of jobs required?

It is true that online shopping has become commonplace trendy all over the world. In fact, this has some relevant effects on the surrounding environment, and it has also shaped the sorts of demanding jobs in the labour market. There are some positive and negative consequences that could affect our lives due to online shopping. On the one hand, the issue of noise and air pollution as well as traffic congestion could be reduced to a great extent. This is because people would drive less and the number of community members wandering in the streets would greatly decrease. As a result, the traffic jam dilemma and noise pollution, especially in large metropolises could be resolved, in addition, the amount of carbon dioxide and other toxic gases emitted into the air could be dramatically decreased. This leads to boosting the quality of air and at least mitigate the occurrence of different diseases, such as bronchial asthma, chronic allergic rhinitis, stroke and heart diseases. On the other hand, the high facility in shopping process motivates people to consume more goods and companies would increase the packaging content to ensure safe delivery of their products. Therefore, the amount of household wastes would be duplicated leading to aggregation of waste problems with its detrimental consequences on our environment. Furthermore, online shopping has a significant role to play in figuring the types of jobs required in the job markets. Online shopping does not require face to face contact with clients, so many shop workers will lose their jobs. For example, there will be no more demand for sales assistants in the future as people would just surf online by themselves to check wide range of products and even compare their prices. In fact, this will result in increasing the rate of unemployment. However, there will be rising demand in certain jobs related to I.T. For instance, there will be great demand for computer programmers and web designers in order to manage websites and control some technical issues. In addition, digital marketer will find their way to great job opportunities, because they would be highly required in order to set the right marketing plan that ensure the best way of communication with customers as well as customer relationship management. Besides, delivery drivers would become a potential job as they will be more requested in order to deliver products to clients at their homes. In conclusion, it is clear that the growing global trend of online shopping has both positive and negative consequences on the environment, and it has substantial fingerprints on shaping the job markets.