Smacking children is best form of discipline. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The practice of moulding errant children into proper behaviour by smacking them is an age-long tradition that is gradually losing its popularity in the society. Some people are of the opinion that smacking children is the best method of instilling discipline in children. This essay will argue why smacking children is absolutely the best way to discipline children despite some potential demerits. Some parents believe that smacking children is actually a potentially dangerous and ineffective method of raising children. They claim that this method tends to dehumanize the children once they get used to beating. Also, they believe that there is a chance of injuring the children, both physically and psychologically when things get out of hand. For instance, there have been recorded cases of children developing even more unruly behaviours once they adapt to the practice. Their minds are already programmed to expect the usual and that makes them less wary of the punishment. So the desired purpose of smacking them is defeated in the long run. Examples like these have bolstered the existing distaste in parents for this practice. Hence, their opinion that the method is the worst considerable option of raising a child. However, the claim that smacking children is an unnecessary method of raising a child is completely ridiculous. It has been evident since time immemorial that a typical child has a natural tendency to misbehave, unless the child is aware of painful consequences that the mischief will attract. Children are naturally scared of pain and they would do anything possible to avoid it. Studies have shown that eight out of every ten children stifle the urge to badly behave simply because they fear being smacked for their actions, especially when they have had a similar experience in the past. This goes to show how effective corporal punishment can be towards making a child well-behaved, even in the absence of the parents. A parent only needs to smack a child on a few occasions before the fear of a reoccurrence happening again (especially at regular intervals) recurrence automatically guides the child's conduct. In conclusion, this essay argued that parents who are against smacking children are grossly misinformed about the subject and they underestimate the effectiveness of the practice. In my opinion, smacking children is absolutely the most effective method of instilling discipline in children despite the minor risks associated.