Nowadays, news companies spend a lot of money covering international news. However, local news is more relevant to people’s lives and should receive more funding. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

There is no doubt that the news media play a significant role to enable a country with information. It, therefore, has been contemplated by a number of residents that these companies should focus more on local stories, which can gear towards generating impact, rather than other countries' news. However, I do not accord with the statement of a specific area-based news coverage and in this essay, I will explore my views with pertinent examples. One concern is that it is important whether individuals are often getting updated about their surroundings in dire situations, such as natural calamities, war, and so forth. That is to say, relying on international sources seems not only beneficial to a family, but also informative to lead everyone's life. To give an illustrative example, people, who are living a quarantined life during the COVID 19 outbreak in 2020, are banking on special talk shows and daily news updates for the correct information, thus staying healthy and safe from the virus. On the other hand, local news personnel undoubtedly enables a whole nation with a necessary and relevant data, footage, statistics, and so on, despite a biased role that a few journalists triggers. So, this is indeed unfortunate that yellow journalism still exists in many locations because of some predatory organisations and news viewers are turning as victims for believing the prejudiced information. For instance, a recent Harvard Study revealed in late 2019 that 15% of locally established small journalists in South Asia suburban areas publish articles based on bribes. Furthermore, a number of local reports are also blamed by the public for spreading misinformation or fake news in an area. To sum up, while more news enthusiasts are becoming dependable on the international television platforms or radio programmes for the right data, the biaseness a commercial or industrial enterprise and the people who constitute it business view of local reporters has been recognised by people.