A growing number of people feel animals should not be exploited by people and that they should have the same rights as humans, while others argue that humans must employ animals to satisfy their various needs, including uses for food and research. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

It is generally believed by a group of people that animal rights should be protected and they should not be used for experimentation by human beings while others believe that they can be consumed by human beings for edible requirements and used for research purposes. In my opinion, animals can be used for research purposes as a major breakthrough in the field of medicine came via experiment on animals. The protectors of animal rights believe that these creatures should not be used by human beings, neither for research nor for edible purposes. They believe all the essential nutrients required for the balanced diet of a healthy person can be procured from vegetables. Hence it is absolutely unnecessary to kill animals for this purpose. Moreover, the recent research conducted by veterinarians confirms that animals subjected to experiments also feel pain so it should be avoided. According to them this is the selfish nature of human beings that they consider whole universe and all the animals in it are meant to serve them and they can use it in any way they want. Hence, this criminal attitude should be curbed and animal rights should be protected. On the other hand, some people believe and I agree that animals should be used for research purposes as it is sole reason which made the modern medicine with its advancements possible. In other words, all the injections and drugs we are using in the present era, their initial trials were conducted on animals. Only after successful trials on animals they were approved by the food and drug administration authority to be utilised on humans. Useless experimentation on animals have been banned several years ago just like previously animals were used for cosmetic testing. In conclusion, while people may disagree with their opinion, experimentation on animals and using them for food is fully justified and like the past may result in the invention of many life saving vaccines.