In some countries, the average weight of people is increasing and their level of health and fitness is decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

The issue of the growing number of obesity in the world has become a matter of discussion for many. In my view, poor dietary choices, sedentary lifestyle and growing fast food culture are main the reasons to name the few. In this essay, I shall outline the main causes for this change and analyse the possible solutions. There are multiple predominant factors resulting in rapid growth of the number of obese people and decreasing quality of health. Firstly, in our today's world, we live a very fast paced life, which leaves little to no room for cooking healthy food at home. As a result, many people resort to eating processed or ready made meals, this type of food is very high in both trans-saturated fat and sugar. Which is linked to many health ailments, including obesity. Secondly, a recent study at Stanford university showed that most people living in Canada on average spent 7hours or more sitting and doing no physical activity. That same study also linked heart diseases and poor weight management among people with such type of lifestyle. Lastly, fast food has now become a part of our culture and majority of people consume it on a daily basis. A very large number of studies show that a high number of calories, oil and sugar present in fast food, is the main driving force behind cardiovascular diseases, diabetes and increased body fat. So what can be done? I believe that the problem has to be tackled on a number of levels. For example, by making healthy dietary choices that are low in sugar and fat, could go a long way in terms of overall fitness. In addition, government can impose new regulations to limit the amount of fructose, cholesterol and trans-saturated fat in fast food meals. Adding to this, it will also be beneficial to mandate offices and companies to hire fitness and nutritional coaches, to provide guidance to those who are looking to make positive changes in their diet. In conclusion, from the given arguments and examples it is clear that various solutions exist to mitigate this problem, which require an effort from both public and government. In the future, we could only expect to see any improvement if only we work together to eliminate the causes of this growing global issue.