Wealthy countries should accept more refugees and provide them with basic assistance, such as food and housing. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Countries with a better standard of living have to take responsibility for equipping those who left their countries desperately with some essentials, such as something to eat or a place to live, to help them survive. In my opinion, as these countries have enough power to take such responsibility as well as use those people’s potential in a productive way, it is better for them to take some action. Firstly, wealthy nations are economically and financially powerful to support refugees. Unlike developing nations that frequently go under public debt and have limited budgets, rich nations can easily invest in offering simple assistance to those who need it the most. Furthermore, they can allocate a portion of their budget to build a residential area and provide unfortunate individuals with basic human needs like food and water. For instance, the US, which is one of the most powerful countries in the world, has created a Medicare program for refugees, giving them temporary shelter as well as medical services in case of any unexpected disease. Secondly, helping marginalized groups is a way to invest in the further development of a nation. For example, pandemics are the most challenging times for any part of the world which may destroy a country in terms of its economy and financial well-being. Moreover, such situations often result in labour shortages. By assisting refugees, countries give them a chance to start a new life and provide them with essential training to help them become better equipped with the necessary skills needed for different industries. Consequently, they strengthen their workforce, and as a result, such countries become less affected by the adverse effects of pandemics on the economy. In conclusion, it is important for wealthy nations to take care of refugees as they hold a strong position and have enough capacity to do it. Moreover, to preserve their role as major players, they should consider the upsides of accepting those individuals.