According to a recent study, the more time people use the Internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. Some people say that instead of seeing the Internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities worldwide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction. How far do you agree with this opinion?

The issue of people lacking physical interaction with others, due to spending a large amount of time on the internet, has become a matter of discussion for many. I completely agree with this statement. In this essay, I shall analyse key factors behind this trend and outline the possible solutions. To start with, there are numerous predominant reasons why this is a negative development. Firstly, as people are spending less time with their family and friends in the outside world, the emotional bond between such relationships is getting weaker by the day. For example, a recent study published by Stanford University showed that 3 out of 5 people picked socializing virtually over real world interactions. This further proves the point that it is a concerning trend among the society. Secondly, the absence of in-person relations at a young age, could result in weak social skills and social-phobia. Furthermore, in a journal submitted at Oxford University revealed that ever since the rapid growth of the social networking sites, there seems to be an equal decline in the time people spend outside either doing some physical activity or having a conversation with friends. This directly results in not only people having the lower quality of life, but also developing social anxiety. In conclusion, this is a topic that raises many questions in the contemporary life. From the given arguments and examples I am inclined to say that the negative aspects of this situation surpass the positive points. In the future, it will be fruitful to review the reasoning stated above in order to realize improvements in this direction.