Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, there are several diseases occurred due to high- sugar food and beverages sold all over the world. Therefore, some individuals suggest increasing the price of such products in order to make people switch their preference to less sugar versions. Regarding that opinion, I firmly believe that it is going to be an effective way to tackle health problems if the governments choose to make sugary products more expensive. To begin with, it is believed that higher prices will stimulate the public to think twice before deciding to buy food or drinks. Although the price differences might be insignificant, there are still greater chances for people to compare with the other products, especially the healthier ones. An outstanding example of this is that people tend to buy less sugar cola in terms of soft drinks, since the price is way cheaper than the other drinks with normal sugar levels. Furthermore, the higher prices of unhealthy products can be utilized by the government to subsidise fruits and vegetables. Subsidising organic foods will not only reduce the purchase of unhealthy products, but also increase people's tendency to choose way healthier food. To illustrate, the money raised by the government from sugar tax imposed within a country can be maximized to increase public awareness towards the importance of organic foods. In conclusion, I am convinced that making sweetened food and drinks more expensive can be implemented to reduce the increasing rate of health problems occurring these days. Increasing the price and imposing a sugar tax will make individuals have second thoughts before consuming unhealthy products, thus making communities more considerate towards their own well-being.