News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. Whats your opinion about it?

In the recent day, the pictorial presentation has emerged as an effective way of communicating the messages to the society. There is a section of people, who believes that this is an impressive way to make people understand the gravity of the stories, whereas, another section of people feels that pictures of heinous acts are disturbing and negatively effect the kids. Keeping both sides of arguments into consideration, I feel that pictures should be a part of an article with some restrictions for particular types of reporting. The below paragraphs will discuss these arguments in detail and reach to a conclusion. Firstly, It is known fact that pictures speak more louder than the words. Some stories require innovative approaches to reach the masses and bring transformational changes in social lives. Drawing is that innovation in the editorial world, which has transformed the reporting ways. It also communicates the message with more clarity in less time. Furthermore, It would save time of the reader, as he can easily make out the intensity of the story by looking into the drawings without going through a half page of an article. For instance, It is always preferred to explain the logic by a pictorial representation in an exam. I had always taken this approach in my college days. However, certain heinous crimes like rape, murder should be avoided to present in pictorial style, as these pictures might be disturbing for certain readers in society, especially children and people with heart disease. It is medically proven that sensitive issues increase the heart beat and blood pressure in a rapid time, which might prove fatal to them. Keeping the purpose and approachability of news in mind and it is a paramount responsibility of the media to make sure that their stories should not have any adverse impact on the people. In conclusion, the pictorial representation of stories is a promising methodology to cascade the intended message to the community at a rapid pace. At the same time, the concerned authorities should have separate guidelines in place to make sure that the contents displayed in print media have no disturbing content for a section of viewers. Thus, the above explanation proves my opinion of usage of pictures to report the stories in newspapers and news channels.