In their advertising businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negeztive development?

It is increasingly a common marketing strategy for companies to stress that their commercial products are new and somehow different from others in their advertisement. The general tendency of people to seek for something they have never tried before would be a significant reason. I partially believe that this is a positive trend, for it boosts their sales dramatically regardless of some disappointment that customers may experience as they try new items. The primary reason for industries putting more emphasis on new aspects of their products is the growing curiosity of the public toward unfamiliar ones. In other words, companies are successful in drawing their attention to promote their sales. For instance, people have become so obsessed with posting pictures and videos of colourful candies with the shape of realistic eyeballs on Facebook and Twitter to wait for the various responses of viewers. Such shocking products leave intense impressions on them, from which companies can expect rapid growth in their profits as more people get interested and purchase them. As a result, the sales had boosted almost twice as much as the company sold such shocking items. On the other hand, there is also a negative consequence brought about by the excessive emphasis that companies put on new items since they can lead to disappointing customers. Indeed, the growing attitude of companies to prioritize their earnings makes them shortsighted as they often ignore something more essential which includes their effect on the health of customers. For instance, Kouji, a new supplement that contains nutrients from rice, is later discovered to pose serious damage to their kidneys. Furthermore, some people with a regular intake of this supplement even died, which led to the complete loss of the public trust as well as their money to make up for their failures. In conclusion, the rising curiosity of people toward new items is a major reason for more companies to stress their importance. While I somewhat agree with this as they can gain more financial advantage, they tend to neglect other perspectives to lose the trust of the public.