There seems to be an increasing trend towards assessing students though exams rather than through continual assessment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assessment?

The debate weather, exams is an effective way to judge the performance of a student, as opposed to having regular checkups on their progress. In this essay, I shall outline the benefits and drawbacks of this development and analyse the key factors behind it. To start with, there are numerous predominant reasons, why having exams as a primary form of evaluation is a positive development. Firstly, it provides an equal opportunity for every student to showcase the progress that they have made by scoring higher grades. For example, a recent study published at Stanford University, showed that students performed better when they knew that their performance will be judged in some form. This is due to the fact that scoring better in exam trigger the reward region of our brain, this in turn will motivate us to perform well in the future. Secondly, exams allow for a mean by which schools or parent could monitor if the children are paying attention in class and if they are ready to be sent forward. In stark contrast, some obvious negative points of this view come into light. First, some students face difficulty writing for long hours at a time, this may lead them to score poorly in the exam, even though they had the potential and knowledge to score better. Furthermore, it is unfair how all the data that was taught throughout the year is compressed to few questions given in the exam-paper, as this is not an effective way to gauge the capability of a student. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises many questions in the contemporary life. From the given arguments and examples, it is clear to say that both viewpoints hold strong supporting grounds. In the future, it will be fruitful to review the reasoning stated above in order to realize a definitive answer regarding this topic.