Many people believe that reducing speed limits is the best option for road safety improvement. Do you think there are other measures that could be put in place? what are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

It is argued that restricting the driving velocity is the most appropriate measure to reduce road traffic accidents. However, my personal perspective is other strategies such as implementing a strict legal framework, are better in enhancing the road safety. Although imposing a speed limit declines the number of life threatening accidents, it increases the amount of traffic on roads. To begin with, the most important step in improving the road safety is establishing a strict legal protocol to discipline roadway users. In fact, keeping a close scrutiny by the police and video camera system to spot individuals who violate traffic regulations and sentencing them with penalties and punishments are integral in making people care about their driving. For an example, the UK could achieve a commended level of the road safety through punishing offenders who do not oblige with traffic rules, and flourishing the overall driving discipline. However, reducing the speed limit has own benefits and drawbacks. On one hand, mitigating the driving velocity declines the number of life threatening accidents. This is because, control of the drive lose with the excess speed and increase the severity of the impact on victims exaggerating the damage and mortality. On the other hand, restricting the velocity of vehicles predisposes the traffic on roads. moreover in addition Moreover, slowing of vehicles on urban streets causes congestion and obstruction through inefficient flowing and thereby, prolong the travelling time. For an instance, a survey done in Sri Lanka has revealed that after recommending a maximum speed limit to drive in Colombo city, the traffic congestion has soared up to an uncontrollable level, despite there was some reduction in the number of high speed motor collisions. In conclusion, even though, plummeting the driving speed minimizes the severity of an impaction, it predisposes the congestion of the roads. Hence, the best solution to improve the road safety is implementing strict traffic policies.