Many offenders commit more crimes after serving their first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is often observed that a lot of first time offenders commit more crimes after they serve out their sentence. In my opinion, the main reasons for this are due to the social stigma associated with people who have committed crimes coupled with a lack of opportunities. The government can play a major role in solving this issue by taking certain proactive steps. In general, the attitude of society at large towards people who have served jail times is one of resentment and suspicion. This can severely impact the reintegration of these individuals and can lead to a feeling of isolation and mistrust, which, if left unchecked can propel them back towards the path of crime. The state can play an important role with regards to educating people about the importance of giving such offenders a second chance. This can be achieved by creating awareness campaigns which help people understand the importance of such attitude and also the dangers of doing otherwise. Another major reason people may return to committing crimes after serving one sentence, is due to a lack of job-oriented training in jails. If first time offenders are taught and trained in skills which would make them more employable when they are let free, it will make their chances of obtaining a decent paying job much higher. As a result of it, they will have less motivation to return to committing crimes. Once again, the government can play a vital role by implementing courses and training in jails, which would greatly enhance the chances of successful re-integration of these inmates. In conclusion, in my opinion the trend of first time offenders committing more crimes after their early incarceration is mainly due to the challenges these people face upon their release from jails and timely and appropriate measures by the government can significantly help address this problem.