The number of old people is increasing. Some think this will cause problems for countries while others believe old people still have value. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is commonly considered by many that the increasing number of elderly people is becoming a burden for the government, whereas others tend to oppose this idea and believe that old people has wide knowledge and experience, which could be used to tackle modern problems. This essay will discuss both points of views before reaching at the conclusion. To begin with, those who opine that increase in senior citizens has led various problems for countries can easily point out the cost of elderly welfare programmes. That is to say, government has to support its elderly people by taking care of their basic necessities such as food, clothing and shelter. Additionally, government has to provide financial assistance for the medical treatment of its people. This is definitely a burden for the government as old people are not contributing towards the economic growth of a country in any way. On the other hand, some people believe that old people still have wide knowledge and experience, that could be used by youngsters to resolve their problems. In other words, the elderly, people can be considered as a best advisor because they offer the best guidance by considering all the consequences of a specific problem. For instance, I remember when I was in grade five and I had a fight with my friend due to her bad behaviour, my grandfather was the one, who resolved our issue by teaching both of us the true value of friendship. To conclude, I believe the elderly people should not be considered as a burden by the government as they also have contributed towards the national economy by paying taxes in their young age. Moreover, the government should use the knowledge and experience of elderly people to solve real world problems.