The internet has transformed the way information is shared and consumed, but it has also created problems that did not exist before. What are the most serious problems associated with the internet and what solutions can you suggest?

The tremendous growth in the usage of the internet over the last two decades has led to radical changes to the way that people consume and share information. Although serious problems have arisen as a result of this. One of the major problems with the internet is the ease with which children can access potentially dangerous sites. For example, pornography sites are easily accessible to them because they can register with a site and claim to be an adult. Beyond the shadow of a doubt that this affects their thoughts and development, which is a negative impact for children and for society. Another rising problem is the growth of online fraud and hacking. These days, there are constant news stories about government and company websites that have been hacked, resulting in sensitive information falling into the hands of criminals. It is imperative that actions are taken to combat these problems. Governments should ensure that adequate legislations and controls are in place that will prevent young people from accessing dangerous sites, such as requiring more than simply confirming that you are an adult to view a site. Parents also have a part to play, they need to closely monitor the activities of their children and restrict their access to certain sites, which can now be done through various computer programmes. Companies must also improve IT security systems to avoid fraudulent schemes. To conclude, the internet is an amazing technological innovation that has transformed people’s lives, but not without negative impacts. However, with the right action by individuals, governments and businesses, it can be made a safe place for everyone.