Employers sometimes ask people applying for jobs for personal information, such as their hobbies and interests, and wether they are married or single some people say that this information may be relavant and useful.Others disagree. Discuss both these views and give your openion.

Some people argue that recruiters should ask candidates for their personal information during the interview, such as hobbies, interests, and marriage status, because they believe that this informationinformation will add more information about their assessment of the candidates, while others disagree. This essay will discuss both perspectives before giving my personal opinion. On the one hand, it is true that acknowledgement of the personal information of the candidate benefits the interview in different ways. Firstly, personal routines and interests would show their personality. For example, those who spend their free time on taking exercise and reading tend to have a high personal discipline and self-motivation, which are good for all employment positions. Additionally, for those job positions which require long working hours and night shift, tracking marital status helps recruiters choose the right person for the position. On the other hand, personal information might not tell the whole picture about candidates. Indeed, many people believe that working experience and other soft skills are more likely to be relevant and helpful in determining whether this candidate matches with the employment. Furthermore, some assess that although many people do not have good habits, they can still achieve admirable success in their career path. In my opinion, I personally believe that obtaining the personal hobbies and interests of candidates would be beneficial to interviewers to assess whether the candidates are suitable for the position. However, personal information is not all the things we need to ask candidates. In conclusion, personal information plays an important role in looking for a good match candidate, however, recruiters also need to obtain other important aspects such as working experience and soft skills in the interview.