Some people think that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters such as food, clothes and entertainment is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decision about matters that affect them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It's believed by some that giving children the chance to make their own decisions on a daily basis is expected to raise a society of selfish individuals. However, others think that it is vital for children to be given the chance to make their choices regarding things that affect them like what they eat, wear, or watch. There are many aspects that parents should consider when raising a child, children must be taught how to choose and how to differentiate between what is right and what is wrong. This will allow them to grow with fine skills, and will train them to take the responsibility for their own actions. Furthermore, they will grow up into being independent individuals who will be able to deal with life challenges and conflicts that they may face on the long term. On the contrary, children by nature are prone to making mistakes, so, if a child is permitted to make his own choices without any guidance, he may fail to consider other's feelings. This is detrimental to the growth of children, it will indeed result in a society of self-centred individuals. For instance, a child may insist to watch a certain cartoon while other family members want to watch something else, if he is always allowed to have it his way, he will probably grow up into being a spoiled selfish person. In conclusion, I think parents must grant their youngsters the liberty to make up their own minds while teaching them to respect others and realize the importance of considering other individuals feelings.