Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, due to the development of technology, the time that children spend watching TV has increased. Some people may have claimed that there are more advantages to learning by watching TV. However, I personally disagree with this statement because many TV contents are less likely to be educational. To begin with, children cannot study effectively by watching TV, even if it is an educational program. I understand that learning by just watching TV is much easier than studying with books, but I think children can be susceptible to watching other entertaining programs which are not educational. Thus this has distracted children from concentrating on their studies. In Korea, for instance, we have an education channel called EBS, normally children can learn various knowledge such as science and language from that channel, at both home and school. However, there is also entertaining content, and thereby children lose their interest in learning. Hence, I think it is more likely to disturb children's learning. Additionally, there are some reasons that children should not be encouraged to watch TV to learn something. If they had habits of watching TV since they were young, they might have difficulties in studying in adolescence. What I mean is that children who used to learn knowledge by watching TV, regardless of home or school, will be affected negatively by their academic performance because they are not familiar with studying with books. Also, it is easy to forget knowledge only by learning visually. Therefore, I believe children should encouraged to have academic circumstances from home and school, instead of watching TV. In conclusion, I think children cannot learn productively by watching TV because it will loosen their concentration and cannot teach them how to apply their information which is an important factor in learning. In this sense, children should not be encouraged to watch TV both home and school for their bright future.