Organized tour to remote community and other countries is increasingly popular. Is it a positive or negative development for the local people and environment?

The past few years have witnessed the burgeoning growth of organized tours to secluded parts of the world. From my perspective, this phenomenon brings both and beneficial and adverse outcomes on the locals and the environmental quality. The ever-increasing popularity of package tours to rural areas offers definite perks. Regarding the locals, they can enjoy the amelioration in the living standard. To achieve an increment in tourist arrivals and cater for the growing demand of incoming tourists, more entertainment facilities and transport infrastructure within these locations are often established and improved. Such easier access to better amenities can bring more joy and make lives less difficult in remote areas. As for the environment, tourists tend to show preference for lush and verdant space when it comes to what countryside or far flung retreats has to offer. Thus, more trees would be planted and the air quality would then be significantly improved. However, there can also be certain negative impacts brought by this trend that are worth mentioning. Firstly, the development of this mode of tourism may give rise to environmental degradation. Organized tours often bring a massive number of tourists to remote and previously unspoilt areas. This can be explained by a significant amount of water and air pollution as environmentally unconscious tourists may throw litter or spit on the streets. Secondly, tourists should also be held accountable for causing enormous disturbance to the life of locals. Intrigued by the exotic way of living that they hardly encounter in their daily life, some tourists may give themselves the autonomy to interfere with local residents’ life such as freely going into their houses to explore, or asking too many questions surrounding their private lives. In conclusion, both beneficial and detrimental effects on local people and the environment can be seen as a result of the rise in trips to distant regions.