Nowadays the way many people interact with each other has changed because of technology. In what ways has technology affected the type of relationships people make? Has this become a positive or negative development?

It is true that advancements in technology have changed the way we interact with one another. Technology has affected relationships in various ways, and in my opinion, there are both positive and negative effects. There are several ways in which the new communication technology has influenced people ’s way of interaction with each other. Firstly, social media applications have revolutionized the way we communicate. The reason why many people believe this is that nowadays, you can connect with your family and friends instantly through many social media applications such as the Facebook and twitter applications. It is also possible to say that people are now more encouraged to share their opinions openly via the Internet. One good illustration for this is the substantial number of friends that people who use social media applications have in their contact list. However, the impact of social media in one’s social life may not always be positive. This is because people are now increasingly abandoning face to face interactions and prefer carrying out their communication behind closed doors. This is causing more people, especially youths, to lose out on  many aspects of personal communication. A particularly good example here is a study conducted in the USA showing that more than 75% of high school students are spending more than 50% of their free time on the Internet. In conclusion, technology has certainly revolutionized communication between people, but not all of the outcomes of this revolution have been positive.