It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

It has become a trend nowadays, to take a one year gap after completing school and joining university. Taking a year off after school and getting to university helps students to take a break from their schedule and get time to take decision about their career. On the one hand, a year off after school buys some time to the students from their hectic schedule and take a break to relax and enjoy. This helps them to rejuvenate and get ready for the upcoming challenges and decisions to do for their careers. Moreover, the student gets time to analyse all the aspects of the profession they want to choose and getting familiar with the subject, this gives them a feedback that are they really interested or should change their decisions. Furthermore, they can make the list of universities and checking on the prospectus, and choose the subjects as well as the universities. On the other hand, taking a year off between the school and educational institution, students lose a precious period, which can be otherwise utilized later as experience. In addition to this, they face difficulty in getting back to studies and can lose confidence. Due to the gap in studies, it becomes difficult to concentrate. Another issue that can arise from this is that they are behind their fellow batch mates in their colleges which can lead to low self-esteem and depression. In conclusion, taking a gap between school and university makes it difficult to get back to studies and also lose a precious term, but there are advantages too.