Mobile phones should be banned in public places such as libraries and shops and on public transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that cell phones should be prohibited fully in public areas such as libraries, supermarkets, or on means of public transport. However, I strongly disagree with this argument for several reasons. Inhibiting the use of mobile phones could limit many kinds of transactions. In terms of retail, some people need to use mobile phones to pay for their payments at the markets, convenience stores, and grocery stores. From the perspective of transport, more and more transportation companies sell tickets via QR (quick-respond) codes or online applications which are integrated into customers’ cell phones. In addition, some universities and libraries require students to check in online on their mobile phones. There are compelling reasons to say that the prohibition of using mobile phones would affect negatively people, and it could even constrain the development of various aspects such as technology, transportation and education. Granted, once a person uses his or her mobile phone in such public places, others might feel bothersome because they can not have a quiet atmosphere to concentrate. However, I believe that inhibiting the use of mobile phones could not change this problem dramatically because people are surrounded by many kinds of noise such as vehicles and chatting noise. Meanwhile, some negative effects may happen if local or national authorities ban the use of cell phones, especially in such urgent situations. People might need to use their cell phones, for instance, to call the police to immediately announce about accident, robbery, or fire case. This action could help the community avoid such severe consequences. There is a piece of convincing evidence to say that the use of mobile phones in such public areas is necessary. In conclusion, the use of mobile phones could engender some problems, I strongly believe that governments or local authorities should not ban them in public areas because of their benefits in many fields such as education, transport, and technology and in emergency cases.