Fossil fuels (e.g. coals, oil and gas) are the main source of energy for most countries. However, alternative sources of energy (e.g. wind and solar) have been encouraged to be used by some countries. To what extent is this a positive or negative development?

In this highly competitive era of 21st century, increasing demand of the oil and gas are at the peak than ever. However, some continents have been motivated their people to use renewable energy like solar and wind. In my opinion, it is a positive development for the whole world. There are ample reasons behind this positive trend. First of all, using alternative sources of energy, we can minimize the effect of the global warming and ozone layer depletion. Secondly, Nowadays many countries, governments provide subsidies to individuals for using solar panels. For instance, the Indian government started a scheme where the government provides 75% installing cost of solar panels to the people. This is an indeed welcome step. Thirdly, I think this a time when all over the world needs to think and encourage to use of alternative power sources because with the increasing need of the fossil fuels, our next generation may be have lack of nonrenewable energy sources. On the other hand, some people argue that initial and maintenance everything cost of the solar panels and other power sources are very high. They also argue that in today's most countries economies mainly depend on fossil fuels like oil and gas. If these countries influences their people to use alternative sources, then maybe they loose main source of the income. Which leads inflation inside a nation. In conclusion, I do admit that nonrenewable power sources have become internal and main part of most of the continents, but for the reducing pollution and global warming, this is the perfect time to utilize renewable sources to save the earth.