We have been living in the nuelear age now for over half a century. Since the first atomic bombs were developed, nuclear technology has provided governments with the ability to totally destroy the planet. Yet the technology has been put to positive use as an energy source and in certain areas of medicine. To what extent is nuclear technology a danger to life on Earth? What are the benefits and risks associated with its use?

Since the discovery of the potential of nuclear source more than 50 years ago, humanity has entered in a new episode of its history: nuclear age. This period will be remembered as the epoch in which few leaders in the world had able to destroy the entire planet with a bottom. Nowadays there is a controversial debate about the use of atomic energy as an ordinary source of energy. Public opinion is divided into the pros and cons that this source of energy can offer. On the one hand, we can find so many positive examples in the use of nuclear energy from the point of view of medicine. One of the most representative is when radiation is used in the process of rehabilitation in cancer patients. This treatment, called chemotherapy, is able to destroy a large number of ill cells. Despite the fact that chemotherapy is highly effective, it is also aggressive for the body. In fact, some of the consequences of this medication are hair and weight loss and constantly retch. On the other hand, nuclear power has been used in a terrible way by human beings in the past. For instance, at the end of the II World War, the nuclear bomb caused so many deceases in some of the most important cities in Japan. During the Cold War, Ukraine’s atomic plant was destroyed by the force of the atom for the lack of supervision and preventive maintenance. In conclusion, we can claim that nuclear energy has demonstrated many advantages to the world, especially in the medical field. Nevertheless, its use in war or its implementation as an ordinary source of energy can do mass destruction in the world because of its high instability rate.