Some people think that because some children find some subjects such as mathematics and philosophy difficult they ought to be optional instead of compulsory. To what extent do you agree?

It is believed by some people that the challenging subjects like mathematics and philosophy which are found to be difficult by the children should be made optional instead of compulsory in the school curriculum. However, in my view, the basic understanding of both these topics should be required by everyone to flourish in their lives. First and foremost, mathematics is a subject which deals with calculative and analytic skill development of the brain. Even later on in the life, it is necessary to do the basic calculations related to daily activities and in handling their earned finances. Secondly, philosophy teaches moral values, ethics and principles which all are mandatory to develop the interpersonal soft skills. These behavioural core values will help a person to maintain balance between professional and personal aspects. Hence, teachers should use some tailored approach with the help of modern technology to teach their students in a more understandable and interactive ways. Moreover, teaching should not be focused alone on the strengths of the child instead efforts should be made to improve the weaknesses of the student. In fact, presenting children to a vast range of fields can be useful to them for learning complex topics later in the life. For instance, to hold a good understanding of an economy, one must be have a basic understanding of mathematics and history. To recapitulate, I opine that schools should not be the place where the focus should be alone on the strengths of child by narrowing the range of subjects as per child’s preferences. In view of it, the school should develop strong fundamental base by making some basic topics like mathematics and philosophy compulsory in their curriculum for the growth of the well rounded individual.