Instead of training a few athletes to win medals at the Olympics, governments should spend the money on programmes encouraging the public to be active and stay healthy. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The Olympics, is one of the single major global event which brings all the countries of the world together and acts as a mean for every nation to be in the limelight and gather fame and recognition by participating in the event. Despite the importance of the event, many consider that government should spend more on programmes which promote active lifestyle and the physical well being of its people, rather than training a few athletes, which in my opinion is the right way to move forward. Olympic has not just been an international sporting event, but also a chance for each participating country to not only to win medals, but also to showcase their talent and culture at a world stage. Every nation should encourage its athletes and train them to participate in this sport festival as it helps the country to be recognised by the other nations of the world which ultimately leads into a cultural exchange. However, in spite of the benefits associated with participating in the Olympics, the nations governing bodies should focus on its citizen's overall health. Every economy's strength lies within its manpower and the countries with a strong and large workforce are able to bring about economic development at a faster pace. Due to this, the government should focus on keeping their people fit and active, which can be achieved by spending money on campaigns which encourage them to remain healthy. For example, the Mumbai Municipal Corporation, organises and encourages its citizen to participate in the Monsoon and Winter Marathons which, along with testing the fitness also checks for the participant's endurance. In conclusion, even though sending athletes to participate in the Olympics brings recognition to the nation and acts as a chance to showcase its culture, I strongly believe that governments should spend on focusing to improve and maintain public health as they are driving force of the economy.