Many children these days have an unhealthy lifestyle. Both school and parents are responsible for solving this problem. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

Nowadays, many children stand a good chance of staying healthy due to significant advances in technology and healthcare. However, as living standard increases, children are more likely to ruin their health by spending long hours in front of computers, not taking exercise and eating an unbalanced diet. I believe both families and schools take particular responsibilities and they can do a lot to remedy this situation. Being a role model, parents can make impressive impacts on their children. Especially in the formative years when they are not aware of their attitudes and behaviours, they may imitate the adults and fall into bad habits as a result. Therefore, parents should be careful with their manner and have an appropriate parenting approach. For example, they should limit the time that children spend sitting down and should play sports with them on the weekends. They also should provide them with a range of foods which include plenty of vegetables and only a small amount of fat. If children are brought up on a healthy diet and encouraged to take more exercises, they will grow into healthy adults. On the other hand, teachers also play a vital role in helping their students acquire good lifestyles. It is excessive volumes of tasks that children don’t even have a break for extra-curricular activities. To make change, schools should include regular exercise in their timetables, with activities such as physical education and compulsory sports. Further, schools should promote programmes about healthy eating or should give courses to parents on how to bring up their children, In conclusion, there are plenty ways of educating young children about healthy lifestyle and the responsibility lies with the people who are in regular contact with them, in other words their parents and their teachers.